Prairie View A&M University

Digital Commons @PVAMU

Oscar John Thomas Collection

PVAMU Faculty and Administrator

5-19-1963

Prairie View Alumni And Ex-Students Association

Prairie View A&M College

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.pvamu.edu/oscar-john-thomas-collections

THE PRAIRIE VIEW ALUMNI AND EX-STUDENTS ASSOCIATION

Presents Its

ANNUAL ALUMNI AWARDS

For

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE

Which Reflect Honor Upon

PRAIRIE VIEW AGRICULTURAL AND MECHANICAL COLLEGE



MAY 19, 1963

AUDITORIUM-GYMNASIUM

Prairie View, Texas

SELECTING RECIPIENTS OF THE ANNUAL AWARDS

Many hundreds of nominations for annual alumni awards have been made since the idea was conceived by the late R. W. Hilliard in the late '30's. Selecting nominees has been the responsibility of a special committee appointed by the general alumni association's president with the sanction of the executive committee. Criteria for selection is a part of the association's constitution and by-laws. Nominations are made by any member at the annual homecoming meeting in the fall of each year. Nominations are usually closed by December 31 of each year and cannot be re-opened except by authorization of the Executive Committee. Awards are made either for a singularly significant achievement or services in the past year or for an accumulation of achievements or services accomplished over many years. Nominations have come from practically every state in the nation from persons high in public life as well as citizens in positions of more private status. Normally persons holding elective office in the association are not nominated. The Nomination Committee this year was headed by Mr. B. T. W. Brembry of Haskell, Texas. It was appointed by Mrs. Emma Harrell, Alumni Association President. The nominees are endorsed by Dr. E. B. Evans, President of Prairie View.

The Committee feels that the accomplishments of the five persons chosen this year are representative of the fine efforts being put forth by hundreds of Prairie View Alumni in their respective fields of endeavors. They are "pillars" of strength in their respective communities. They have lit their candles in a dark world in order that the undergraduates who will follow them may accomplish still more.

ALUMNI AWARD RECIPIENTS





Brown, Marshall Vernon, Sr., '31
Agricultural Extension Service
Prairie View, Texas

A joint award to Mr. Marshall V. Brown, '31, and Mrs. Pauline M. Brown, '31 and '49, of Prairie View. Mr. Brown has been State Leader of the Agricultural Extension Service since 1946. Mrs. Brown (not related to Mr. Brown) has been Supervisor of the Home Demonstration work in this program since 1946 also. Both have been nominated for a "Joint Award" in Community Development and Industrial Relations particularly because of their work with foreign officials who have been coming to this country in the past several years studying Prairie View's Extension Program. The College and nation have reaped benefits from their efforts with representatives from nearly every nation in Africa.

Brown, Pauline Mason, '31

Home Demonstration Work

Prairie View, Texas

To Be Presented by
Mr. J. J. Woods
Head of the Poultry Husbandry Department

Craft, Juanita Shanks, '2! Youth Worker Dallas, Texas

Mrs. Juanita E. Craft, '21, Dallas, Texas; Youth Worker with NAACP. Mrs. Craft has been praised by both white and Negro editors for her work with Negro youth. She has made a career of giving them the benefit of her counselling and guidance in order that their efforts for first class citizenship might be effective. She has been in the forefront of the local political scene also and was rewarded for her many great



personal sacrifices this year by an invitation to the White House to attend a White House reception observing the centennial of the Emancipation Proclamation. The versatile Mrs. Craft is known throughout Dallas, Texas and the nation for her adamant stand for first class citizenship and her relentless fight through the NAACP to achieve her dream. She is a life member of the NAACP and former board member, having begun her work with this organization over 21 years ago.

To Be Presented by
MRS. E. M. GALLOWAY, Dean of the School of Home Economics



Hobson, Carol Joy, '44

Education Specialist
Washington, D. C.

Education Specialist in the U. S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare. Mrs. Hobson's position is representative of the new fields in professional areas being opened up to qualified Negro College graduates. She has risen to her present position purely on the merits of outstanding work. Starting as a Research Assistant she has become an Education Specialist in ten short years and has authored several government publications.

To be Presented by Dr. G. R. RAGLAND, Head of the Department of Sociology

McMillan, Horace James, '42

Physician

Santa Barbara, California

"For his personal character, professional attainment, and civic responsibility which have won for him a unique position of leadership....

For his sure hand and sympathetic heart which have become legendary in Santa Barbara, not only among his own patients, but among other patients and hospital staffs....

For his years of service as head of a housing committee comprising every member of the Santa Barbara City Council and others of the city's most prominent citizens....

For his success in guiding Negro youth into suitable and new job opportunities. . . . For his service to the city of Santa Barbara in integrating the community of Negroes and non-Negroes through his friendliness, sincerity, and intelligence. . . ."

To Be Presented by

Dr. L. C. Collins, Acting Chairman, Biology Section, Natural Science Department



Standifer, Joe Edward, '50

Teacher
Fort Worth, Texas

Mr. Joe Standifer, '50, Fort Worth, Texas; public school teacher. Known as "Mr. Science Teacher" in Fort Worth. Mr. Standifer represents the epitome of what Prairie View would like to see in each one of her teacher education program graduates. He was elected as one of the three most outstanding sciene teachers in Fort Worth; recipient of a Shell Oil Scholarship to Stanford University; selected to attend science institutes three consecutive summers at Prairie View, Howard University,

and Indiana University; and selected by the Council of Scientific Societies for Dallas-Fort Worth area for a \$1200 scholarship to North Texas University during the 1963 summer session.

To Be Presented by Dr. E. E. O'Banion, Head of the Natural Science Department